Help My Unbelief [Poem #4]

Here is a short poem-prayer for tonight. When doubts dim the eyes of my heart, I remember that the same Jesus who prayed for Peter, that his “faith may not fail” (Luke 22:32), prays for me. He is “able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them” (Hebrews 7:25).

The beginning phrase of the poem, “I believe; Lord, help my unbelief!” is adapted from the lips of a father seeking healing from Jesus for his boy (see Mark 9). The man had qualified his request with a telling “if” (“if you can do anything…”), and Jesus had responded with rebuke. “‘If you can’!,” He quoted. “All things are possible for one who believes.” “Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, ‘I believe; help my unbelief!’” I so often feel just like this man. I need rebuking, and I need help.

I believe;
Lord, help my unbelief!
I believe
Christ lives and pleads for me.

Oh wrestling soul, give up your fight -
surrender all to Him.
Forsake the darkness for the light
and walk by faith again.

Leave a Reply

